Packers FAN Hall Of Fame nominations under way

Do you know someone whose love of the Green Bay Packers goes well beyond the ordinary? Do they live, breathe, eat, and sleep the Packers?

If so, you might want to take a few moments and go to the Packers website and complete the nomination process, which must be completed online this year.

The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, the first of its kind among National Football League teams, started the fan nomination was started in 1998 because of the intense devotion and dedication of so many of the team’s fans. Known as the FAN Hall of Fame honoree, it was first given to Mel Knoke that first year.

Since then there have been 13 more who have been inducted. In all, 10 have been from Wisconsin, with the other four from out of state.

The nomination phase is under way and will continue through Dec. 21.

Fans again are being asked to nominate themselves, a relative or friend for the honor in an essay of 500 words or less, describing the merits of the nominee. Each nomination should be accompanied by a photo – a copy of the original photo should be submitted in case of damage or loss.

A selection committee will then narrow the field down to 10 finalists who will have their profiles placed onto the Packers website. The final selection will be made by three different groups: Fans (50 percent), the Packers committee (30 percent) and previous honoree votes (20 percent).

While all the voting will be done via the Web, fans without Internet access will also be allowed to submit nominations: Green Bay Packers FAN Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 10628, Green Bay, WI, 54307-0628, or drop them off at the Lambeau Field Atrium (1265 Lombardi Avenue).

In addition to having the honor of a place in the Packers Hall of Fame, the winner will also be awarded four club seats to a 2013 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2013 Packers away game, including game ticket, air fare and hotel accommodation; and a one-year subscription to Packer Plus.

The complete list of past winners are as follows:

Past honorees include: (1999) Mel Knoke, Appleton, Wis.; (2000) Louis Gardipee, Black River Falls, Wis.; (2001) Ed Jablonski, Wausau, Wis.; (2002) Paul Mazzoleni, Green Bay; (2003) Wanda Boggs, Brookfield, Wis.; (2004) Sister Isaac Jogues Rousseau, Milwaukee; (2005) Dorothy Hanke, Milwaukee; (2006) Kathy Lazzaro, Milwaukee; (2007) Rich Barbera, River Vale, N.J; (2008) Richard ‘Ike’ Eisenhauer, Wauwatosa, Wis.; (2009) Allan Hale, Green Bay; and (2010) Jim Becker, Racine, Wis.; (2011) Tom Little, Mount Sterling, Ill.; and (2012) Rick Steele, Greensburg, Pa.

So, don’t hesitate. Get moving and fill out the application.

Next Packers Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct7:30at New Orleans SaintsBuy Tickets

Tags: Green Bay Packers Green Bay Packers Hall Of Fame Packers FAN

comments powered by Disqus