Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
10 of 10
Green Bay Packers, Aaron Rodgers
Green Bay Packers, Aaron Rodgers (Photo by Patrick McDermott/Getty Images) /

Aaron Rodgers (2021)

Aaron Rodgers and the Packers made the worst possible start to the 2021 season, losing 38-3 to the New Orleans Saints. Rodgers threw for 133 yards with no touchdowns and two interceptions.

A second straight MVP award seemed a million miles away.

However, Rodgers quickly rediscovered his best form, guiding the Packers to a 13-3 record in the 16 games he played. He finished the year 366 of 531 for 4,115 yards, 37 touchdowns, and just four interceptions.

That’s right, after throwing two picks in the season opener, he had just two more in the next 15 games combined.

Rodgers’ passer rating of 111.6 ranked first in the NFL.

He saved his best football for late in the year, throwing for 1,929 yards, 22 touchdowns, and no interceptions in the final seven games.

For the second year in a row, the Packers cruised to the NFC North title and top seed by winning 13 games. However, hopes of returning to the Super Bowl were crushed by the San Francisco 49ers, who upset the Packers with a 13-10 victory at Lambeau Field in the divisional round.

It was a disappointing end to a great season.

Rodgers is now in second place for most NFL MVP awards with four. Only Peyton Manning, who won five in his career, has more.

Can Rodgers match Manning and also tie Favre’s record of winning three in a row?