Super Bowl XLV Green Bay Packers: Where are they now?


With the start of the NFL season still several months away, it’s perfect time to take a look back at the 2010 Green Bay Packers Super Bowl Champion roster, and to see where the players are now.

Of the 53-man roster that took part winning Super Bowl XLV only 14 players remain on the current Packers squad.

Led by Aaron Rodgers, the 12 others are Bryan Bulaga, Mason Crosby, Brett Goode, John Kuhn, T.J. Lang, Tim Masthay, Clay Matthews, Jordy Nelson, Andrew Quarless, B.J. Raji, Sam Shields, Josh Sitton, and James Starks.

It is quite a low number for the team only being a few years removed from the Super Bowl.

The Packers believe in youth and building through the draft every year, and that obviously shows with the high  player turnover.

Around the NFL there are 13 former Packers that get to show off their XLV Champion Rings, and one in the CFL.

Brett Swain currently plays for the Saskatchewan Roughriders of the CFL

Cullen Jenkins is currently with the New York Giants, Desmond Bishop is with the San Francisco 49ers, Evan Dietrich-Smith currently plays for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Nick McDonald plays for the Cleveland Browns, Ryan Pickett plays for the Houston Texans, Erik Walden plays for the Indianapolis Colts , C.J. Wilson and Charles Woodson currently play for the Oakland Raiders, Jarius Wynn currently plays for the Buffalo Bills, Frank Zombo plays for the Kansas City Chiefs.

Feb 6, 2011; Arlington, TX, USA; Green Bay Packers cornerback Charles Woodson celebrates with the Vince Lombardi Trophy following Super Bowl XLV against the Pittsburgh Steelers at Cowboys Stadium. The Packers defeated the Steelers 31-25. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-US PRESSWIRE

Four players found new homes this season as well.

Jamari Lattimore signed with the New York, A.J. Hawk signed with the Cincinnati Bengals, Greg Jennings signed with the Miami Dolphins, and Tramon Williams signed with the Cleveland Browns this off season.

Eleven from the roster are currently free agents: Quinn Johnson, James Jones, Diyral Briggs, Jarrett Bush, Matt Flynn, Robert Francois, Brandon Jackson, Charlie Peprah, Jason Spitz, Brandon Underwood, and Scott Wells.

Twelve Packers have called it a career: Donald Lee, Atari Bigby, Chad Clifton, Nick Collins, Tom Crabtree, Donald Driver, Howard Green, Korey Hall, Graham Harrell, Pat Lee, Dimitri Nance, and Matt Wilhelm.

Not every player that was on that Super Bowl winning team was a household name, but they were exactly what the Green Bay Packers stand for.

They were a team united and injury riddled, but one that included players who believed in one another. That’s why they eventually brought the Lombardi Trophy back to its rightful home.

Here’s to the hope that this season this Packers roster can do the same.

Next: Here's how we see the 2015 schedule