Green Bay Packers: Top 30 moments in franchise history

19 of 31

Nov 15, 2015; Green Bay, WI, USA; Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (12) during the game against the Detroit Lions at Lambeau Field. Detroit won 18-16. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

13. MVP Accolades

Can you guess how many times a member of the Green Bay Packers has been named the NFL MVP since 1957?

If you said eight, you would be correct.

It started in the 1962 season, with none other than winning the first ever individual NFL MVP award for the Green Bay Packers and running back following right after in 1963. The Packers had to wait until 1966 for their third MVP recipient in quarterback who was the first Packers quarterback to receive the accolade.

The Packers then didn’t see an MVP award for 29 years, as Brett Favre won the award in 1995. He also went on to earn MVP honors in 1996, and was co-MVP in 1997, to become the second player at the time to win three MVP awards ().

Bart Starr was the Super Bowl I and II MVP.

Raymond T. Rivard photograph

The Packers then waited until 2011 to see their fifth MVP recipient in Aaron Rodgers. Rodgers had led the Packers to a 15-1 record, and put together one of the greatest seasons at the quarterback position. He won the award again this past season, for a second time, which is the eighth in Packers history.

What fans may not know is that former Packers legend won the Joe F. Carr Trophy in 1941 and 1942, which was the equivalent of the MVP award at the time. Hutson played wide receiver and defensive back for the Packers, and some still consider him the greatest player in NFL history.

Next: #12