Green Bay Packers: Top 30 moments in franchise history

30 of 31

This post is some of the top news from the NFL and specifically the Green Bay Packers … Oh yeah, unless you forgot … the Packers won Super Bowl XLV. AP Photo/Mike Roemer

2. Green Bay Packers four Super Bowl wins

1966 Vince Lombardi 12-2-0 .857 Dallas Cowboys 34-27 Dallas
Kansas City Chiefs (SB I) 35-10 Los Angeles
1967 Vince Lombardi 9-4-1 .692 Dallas Cowboys 21-17 Green Bay
Oakland Raiders (SB II) 33-14 Miami
1996 Mike Holmgren 13-3-0 .813 New England Patriots (SB XXXI) 35-21 New Orleans
2010 Mike McCarthy 10-6-0 .625 Pittsburgh Steelers (SB XLV) 31-25 North Texas

The Super Bowl is the pinnacle of all sporting championships. A spectacle that has changed, evolved and gotten a whole heck of a lot bigger than it was when Vince Lombardi’s Packers won the first and second.

In winning four of the five Super Bowls they have played in, the Packers, in all, have won 13 NFL Championships.

Starting with the dominant teams of the late 1920s and early 30s and continuing into the past three decades, the Packers have been among the continuous threats to win it all.

Lombardi’s teams of the mid-60s that won three straight championships (1965, 66, and 67) was as good a football team that has set foot on the gridiron before and after that team faded to history.

Lombardi led the Packers to a thrilling win over the Cowboys in the 1966 championship, qualifying the Packers to play in Super Bowl I. Green Bay went on to defeat the Kansas City Chiefs, 35-10.

In 1967, the Packers played the Cowboys again, this time in frigid Green Bay.

In the game that became known as the Ice Bowl, the Packers got a last second sneak across the goal line by Bart Starr that won the game.

Starr led the Packers to another Super Bowl, this time over the Oakland Raiders, 33-14.

Lombardi stepped away from coaching after the season and the Packers fell to the bottom echelon of the league for more than two decades.

That was until Mike Holmgren, Ron Wolf, Brett Favre and Reggie White came to town.

They led the Packers to two straight Super Bowl appearances in the mid-90s and one championship – that being against the Patriots in 96.

More than another decade passed before Aaron Rogers and the newest regime of coaches under Mike McCarthy led the Packers back to the Super Bowl in 2010.

The championships are special and help define a franchise.

Each year the Packers are in the chase, but it’s always a little bit better watching the Packers accept the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

Next: And ... #1