Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
3 of 10
(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)
(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images) /

Bart Starr (1966)

The legendary Bart Starr won his only NFL MVP award in 1966.

It came following yet another dominant season for the Green Bay Packers, winning their fourth championship in six years.

Starr completed 152 of his 251 pass attempts for 2,257 yards, 14 touchdowns, and only three interceptions. He led the league in completion percentage (62.2 percent), yards per passing attempt (9.0), and passer rating (105.0).

The Packers were dominant, finishing the regular season with a 12-2 record. Their two defeats were by a combined four points.

Green Bay’s record was far and away the best in the NFC Western Conference, setting up a showdown with the 10-3-1 Dallas Cowboys in the NFL Championship game.

Starr was dominant in a 34-27 victory, going 19/28 for 304 yards and four touchdowns with a passer rating of 143.5.

It sent the Packers into the first ever Super Bowl, where they defeated the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10. Starr went 16/23 for 250 yards, two touchdowns, and one interception, with a passer rating of 116.2.

This was one of Starr’s finest seasons in a legendary career. He was a five-time NFL champion, two-time Super Bowl champion, four-time All-Pro, four-time Pro Bowler, and was deservedly inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Bart Starr is arguably the greatest Packers quarterback in history.