Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
5 of 10
(Photo by © Wally McNamee/CORBIS/Corbis via Getty Images)
(Photo by © Wally McNamee/CORBIS/Corbis via Getty Images) /

Brett Favre (1996)

A year on, the NFL MVP award again belonged to Brett Favre.

Favre completed 325 of 542 passes for 3,899 yards and a league-best 39 touchdowns with 13 interceptions. He set a new career-best in touchdown passes.

Under Favre, the Packers put together an even better season than in 1995.

Green Bay improved its record to 13-3, again winning the NFC Central, but this time also wrapping up the top seed. The team also had the league’s No. 1-ranked offense and No. 5 passing offense.

Favre led the Packers to convincing home victories over the San Francisco 49ers and Carolina Panthers in the playoffs, setting up a matchup with the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI.

Against New England, Favre went 14/27 for 246 yards and two touchdowns with no interceptions, earning a passer rating of 107.9. The Packers defeated the Patriots 35-21, winning their third Super Bowl.

Despite putting in a strong performance, Favre didn’t win the Super Bowl MVP award. That belonged to returner Desmond Howard, who sealed victory for the Packers with an iconic 99-yard kickoff return touchdown.

Favre took home his second MVP award in as many years, and was also named a first-team All-Pro and Pro Bowler. For the second season in a row, Favre led the NFL in touchdown passes.