Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
6 of 10
(Photo credit should read MATT CAMPBELL/AFP via Getty Images)
(Photo credit should read MATT CAMPBELL/AFP via Getty Images) /

Brett Favre (1997)

Could Brett Favre make it three in a row by winning a third straight NFL MVP award? You bet he could.

This time, he shared the award with Detroit Lions running back Barry Sanders, who led the league in rushing with 2,053 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Fresh off a Super Bowl victory, Favre and the Packers enjoyed another dominant season.

Favre finished 304 of 513 for 3,867 yards and a league-best 35 touchdowns. For the third straight year, Favre led the league in passing touchdowns.

The Packers continued to dominate in the NFC, again going 13-3, good for the NFC Central title. This time, Green Bay earned the second seed in the conference.

Green Bay eliminated the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and top-seeded San Francisco 49ers, returning to the Super Bowl for the second year in a row.

Despite throwing for 256 yards and three touchdowns with one interception, Favre and the Packers could not retain their championship, losing 31-24 to the Denver Broncos.

Still, Favre took home his third straight NFL MVP award and was again named a first-team All-Pro and Pro Bowler. He remains the only player in NFL history to win the MVP award three consecutive seasons. Can Aaron Rodgers match that incredible accomplishment in 2022?

Talking of Rodgers, it’s time to move on to the next Packers MVP winner.