Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
7 of 10
Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports
Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports /

Aaron Rodgers (2011)

It’s still hard to believe the Green Bay Packers went from one multi-time MVP quarterback to another. After Brett Favre’s incredible run in Green Bay, it was time for Aaron Rodgers to take over.

Rodgers led the Packers to a Super Bowl title in the 2010 season. Would he lose any hunger the following year? Absolutely not.

He would put together one of the greatest seasons of any quarterback in NFL history.

Rodgers finished 343 of 502 for 4,643 yards and 45 touchdowns with only nine interceptions. According to Pro Football Reference, Rodgers’ 2011 passer rating of 122.5 remains the greatest in a single season in NFL history.

Despite having the league’s worst defense, the Packers still went a near-perfect 15-1, powered by Rodgers and the No. 1 scoring offense. Green Bay averaged 35 points per game.

Unfortunately for the Packers, this season is best remembered for their early playoff exit. They were upset in the divisional round, losing 37-20 at home to eventual Super Bowl-champion New York Giants. It was a real disappointment after such an incredible season.

Still, it takes nothing away from Rodgers’ achievements. It was his first NFL MVP award, and he was also named a first-team All-Pro for the first time and made his second Pro Bowl.