Green Bay Packers Super Bowl Wins, Record & History

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers
Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers / TIMOTHY A. CLARY/GettyImages

The Green Bay Packers are no strangers to the Super Bowl. Only five teams have played in more Super Bowls than the Packers and just four teams have won more.

If we're talking NFL championships, the Packers are in first place.

The Packers have enjoyed Hall of Fame quarterback play over the past three decades with Brett Favre and Aaron Rodgers. The two brought home the Lombardi Trophy once each.

How successful have the Packers been in Super Bowls? How many have they played in? Let's look at the team's full history in the big game.

How many Super Bowls have the Green Bay Packers won?

The Packers have won four Super Bowls in their history. They won Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II in back-to-back years, defeating the Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders in 1967 and 1968, respectively.

Green Bay had to wait 29 years for its next championship in Super Bowl XXXI. The Packers defeated the New England Patriots in 1997. They won their fourth Super Bowl in 2011, beating the Pittsburgh Steelers.

When was the last time the Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl?

The last time the Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl was in the 2010 season. They held on for victory, defeating the Pittsburgh Steelers 31-25 at Cowboys Stadium. It was Aaron Rodgers' one and only championship victory in Green Bay, and he was named Super Bowl MVP.

What is the Green Bay Packers Super Bowl record?

The Green Bay Packers have a 4-1 record in the Super Bowl.

They won back-to-back championships in 1967-68. Green Bay defeated Kansas City and Oakland in those games. The team remained perfect by winning its third trip to the Super Bowl in 1997, a victory over New England. However, it lost the following season's Super Bowl to the Denver Broncos.

The Packers got back to winning ways in their most recent Super Bowl appearance, beating Pittsburgh in 2011.

More Articles About Packers Super Bowl History:


Green Bay Packers Super Bowl wins

The Green Bay Packers have won the Super Bowl four times.

Super Bowl I: Green Bay Packers 35, Kansas City Chiefs 10

  • Date: January 15, 1967
  • Stadium: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
  • Super Bowl MVP: Bart Starr, QB, Green Bay Packers

The Packers were crowned champions in the first Super Bowl after dominating the game. Quarterback Bart Starr took home the Super Bowl MVP award after throwing for 211 yards, one touchdown, and one interception.

Packers running backs Jim Taylor and Elijah Pitts combined for 101 rushing yards and three touchdowns.

Green Bay held a narrow 14-10 lead at halftime but pulled away with 21 unanswered points in the second half, winning Super Bowl I.

Super Bowl II: Green Bay Packers 33, Oakland Raiders 14

  • Date: January 14, 1968
  • Stadium: Orange Bowl
  • Super Bowl MVP: Bart Starr, QB, Green Bay Packers

The Packers were champions again a year later in Super Bowl II, defeating the Oakland Raiders. Like the season before, Green Bay won comfortably.

Bart Starr won the Super Bowl MVP award, throwing for 202 yards and one touchdown. The Packers were in control early on, taking a 13-0 lead. They led 16-7 at halftime before a dominant second-half performance.

Super Bowl XXXI: Green Bay Packers 35, New England Patriots 21

  • Date: January 26, 1997
  • Stadium: Louisiana Superdome
  • Super Bowl MVP: Desmond Howard, WR/KR/PR, Green Bay Packers

The Packers won an entertaining Super Bowl in 1997, defeating the Patriots 35-21. It was the first of back-to-back trips to the Super Bowl with quarterback Brett Favre, who finished with 246 yards and two touchdowns in this game.

Desmond Howard made the play of the game with a 99-yard kick return touchdown, coming just moments after the Patriots had reduced the deficit to six points. Howard also had 90 punt return yards in the game, taking home the Super Bowl MVP award.

Super Bowl XLV: Green Bay Packers 31, Pittsburgh Steelers 25

  • Date: February 6, 2011
  • Stadium: Cowboys Stadium
  • Super Bowl MVP: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers

Aaron Rodgers led the Packers to a thrilling victory in his only Super Bowl appearance with the team. Rodgers was named Super Bowl MVP after throwing for 304 yards and three touchdowns.

Safety Nick Collins had a pick-six that put the Packers in control early, and they led 21-3 at one stage. The Steelers fought back in the second half, but Green Bay's defense held on for victory.

Green Bay Packers Super Bowl losses

The Packers have only lost once in their five Super Bowl appearances.

Super Bowl XXXII: Denver Broncos 31, Green Bay Packers 24

  • Date: January 25, 1998
  • Stadium: Qualcomm Stadium
  • Super Bowl MVP: Terrell Davis, RB, Denver Broncos

A year after victory in Super Bowl XXXI, the Packers had an opportunity to defend their title against the Denver Broncos.

However, despite Brett Favre throwing for 256 yards, three touchdowns, and one interception, the Packers fell short. Broncos running back Terrell Davis rushed for 157 yards and three touchdowns, earning the Super Bowl MVP award.

Have any Green Bay Packers players won Super Bowl MVP?

Three Packers players have won Super Bowl MVP. Bart Starr has done it twice. Of the Packers' four Super Bowl victories, the award has gone to the quarterback three times. Here's the list of Packers Super Bowl MVPs.

  • Super Bowl I (1967): Bart Starr, QB
  • Super Bowl II (1968): Bart Starr, QB
  • Super Bowl XXXI (1997): Desmond Howard, WR/KR/PR
  • Super Bowl XLV (2011): Aaron Rodgers, QB

Who were the Green Bay Packers Super Bowl starting quarterbacks?

The Packers have enjoyed Hall of Fame quarterback play in each of their trips to the Super Bowl. Bart Starr and Brett Favre are already in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and Aaron Rodgers will join them at the end of his career. Here's the list of Packers starting quarterbacks in each of their five Super Bowl appearances:

  • Super Bowl I (1967): Bart Starr
  • Super Bowl II (1968): Bart Starr
  • Super Bowl XXXI (1997): Brett Favre
  • Super Bowl XXXII (1998): Brett Favre
  • Super Bowl XLV (2011): Aaron Rodgers

How many championships have the Green Bay Packers won?

The Packers have won 13 championships, nine of which were before the first Super Bowl. They have more titles than any other team.

They won six championships with Curly Lambeau, five with Vince Lombardi, one with Mike Holmgren, and one with Mike McCarthy. Here are each of the Packers' championship seasons:

  • 1929
  • 1930
  • 1931
  • 1936
  • 1939
  • 1944
  • 1961
  • 1962
  • 1965
  • 1966 (Super Bowl I)
  • 1967 (Super Bowl II)
  • 1996 (Super Bowl XXXI)
  • 2010 (Super Bowl XLV)