Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
2 of 10
(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)
(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images) /

Jim Taylor (1962)

The following season, the Green Bay Packers were on top once again, beating the New York Giants in the NFL Championship game for the second year in a row.

Jim Taylor played a huge part in the Packers’ success that season.

He led the league in rushing yards and rushing touchdowns, finishing the year with 1,474 yards and 19 touchdowns on 272 attempts. His 5.4 yards per carry ranked second in the NFL. He ranked first in the league for rushing yards per game, averaging 105.3.

Taylor helped the Packers produce another dominant season.

Vince Lombardi’s team lost only once in the regular season, finishing with a dominant 13-1 record. Green Bay had the league’s No. 1-ranked offense and No. 1-ranked rushing offense.

The 1962 NFL Championship game wasn’t as one-sided as the Packers’ 37-0 win the previous year, but Lombardi’s team overcame the Giants again, this time winning 16-7.

Taylor was the game’s leading rusher with 31 attempts for 85 yards and a touchdown.

As a result of his excellent 1962 season, Taylor made the Pro Bowl and was named a first-team All-Pro to go with his NFP MVP award.

Taylor had a Hall-of-Fame career in Green Bay, winning four championships. He was a six-time All-Pro and five-time Pro Bowler with the Packers.