Green Bay Packers: Every NFL MVP winner in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Kohen/Getty Images) /
4 of 10
(Photo by George Gojkovich/Getty Images)
(Photo by George Gojkovich/Getty Images) /

Brett Favre (1995)

Brett Favre’s first of three NFL MVP awards came in the 1995 season.

He led the Packers to an 11-5 record, good for first place in the NFC Central and the third seed in the conference. From there, the Packers would eliminate the Atlanta Falcons and San Francisco 49ers before falling a game short of the Super Bowl in a defeat to the Dallas Cowboys.

Favre was at his brilliant best, throwing for a league-high 4,413 yards and 38 touchdowns with 13 interceptions.

Despite having the No. 26-ranked rushing offense, Favre led the Packers to the No. 6 total offense, powered by the No. 3-ranked passing offense.

The 1995 season was Favre’s fourth as the Packers’ starting quarterback, and the first time in his career that he hit 4,000 yards passing. He would set a career-best in passing yards.

As well as winning the Most Valuable Player award, Favre was also named the NFL Offensive Player of the Year, a first-team All-Pro, and Pro Bowler.

Favre’s top target in 1995 was wide receiver Robert Brooks, who caught 102 passes for 1,497 yards and 13 touchdowns. The two connected for a 99-yard touchdown pass.

The 1995 season was the start of a dominant stretch for Favre and the Packers. The best was yet to come.